Night Out with Jessie

Saturday night I got together with my old roomie for a wonderful evening. We enjoyed walking around downtown (since it was only 40 degrees!) and had a good dinner at Go Roma’s. To top off the wonderful evening, we went to a worship service that Nathan and Christy Nockels (Watermark) were leading. It was such a blessing to be a part of that evening, especially with a woman who I so admire and always have a blast with!

st-2-007  The pre-concert set-up…beautiful Taylor guitar on the left 😉                                      

st-2-006

Since people seem to think we’re obsessed with Christy Nockels, we took some “fanatic” photos of how we’d respond to seeing her…

st-2-0091

st-2-010

One of the things I was challenged most by this night was something Christy said–it went something like this: “We have in our minds that God wants to make things so difficult for us, that we would get the job we hate, be involved in the ministry we don’t want to do or that He’d have us date and marry someone we don’t want to. This is not the God we serve! Rather He delights in giving us wonderful gifts, that truly bless us.”  Unfortunately these are thoughts that so easily can creep into my mind and it takes a sobering moment to realize how good and gracious the Lord has been. To even have today, a day in which His mercies met me and I (still!) stand as one who’s been redeemed; there’s so much to unpack in those 2 thoughts alone. Man, how I need to be reminded of this daily!! I’m so quick to roll out the list of complaints–“Well, what about this Lord? And remember this? What’s your timing here?”, and my favorite as of now, “What in the world are you doing in this situation??!!” But even if I just meditate on the first verse of Psalm 73: Surely God is good to Israel…well, surely (as I stop and pause) God has been and is soooo good to me too. Even when I can’t see it. Even when the years pass by, surely He’s at work and has been. Most assuredly God is good to _______ (insert name here) Trust me, I’m inserting my name all day!

4 thoughts on “Night Out with Jessie

  1. Shelly,
    I love that you have started a blog. Your walk with Jesus has ALWAYS been an inspiration to me, and now I get to read about it daily! That makes me smile. I’m still waiting for your phone call! Love you.

Leave a Reply

