Mommy

st-1-001My sister-in-law found these pictures of my brother and mom. She posted a beautiful little blog and I just had to share it, but first, let me introduce part of my family: This is my beautiful and gifted sister-in-law, Katie and my handsome (and also very gifted) brother, Chris. They are phenomenal people with amazing talents in photography, pottery and art in general. I love them mucho.

Here is what she blogged:

I was working on sifting through different images and found some scanned pictures. This is Chris as a baby and I don’t think it gets cuter than this. I just had to share it with you. What makes these pictures even more special is that he is with his mom in two of them. Chris lost her about six years back and treasures the time he had with her. This again reminded me of the importance of photographs to show those sweet relationships. I was never able to see her, but through these pictures I can see what a wonderful mom she was and how she truly delighted herself in her children.

 chriscollage

 Katie is absolutely right–photographs help us to capture and “remember”, even when our minds cannot. I’m so grateful for these pictures–they make my heart glad for many reasons. But one of the main reasons is how they allow me to physically remember and see in my mind what an amazing woman and mother Mary Lou Torres was. She really did loves us and sacrificed so much for our family. She put her family first, had such a gentle spirit and loved to laugh. There were times when she would try to punish me (could anyone imagine me needing a spanking??!! Never!) but I knew if I could make my mom laugh, the spoon on my bottom wouldn’t hurt as much = ). My mom taught me how to work hard and to endure. She also taught me how to love the Lord, despite  facing daily difficulties…even death. Although she was only a Christian for about 5 months before passing in to glory, the Lord had been preparing her for Himself for decades. My mommy was an amazing women that I so desire to be more like–loving people, deeply loving her family and finding refuge in her Savior.

Thanks Katie!

3 thoughts on “Mommy

  1. I never met your mom, but I feel like I know her through the stories you’ve shared with me over the years. I cannot believe it has been 6 years. I love your family, and I love you!

    Have a great weekend, friend!

  2. Great pictures! I remember your mom in our Moms in Touch group when you were at Smitha. She prayed wonderful prayers for you and Chris and your friends. And she never complained about her cancer. I really think she knew the Lord then.

Leave a Reply

