A Tree of Life

tree

A couple of days ago I received a wonderful message from my friend Florica. This is what it said:

You will never believe who is having a baby boy. Yes, Flaviu and I after 16 years of marriage and 12 years of trying are having a baby. God is so awesome and amazing. We don’t have words to thank Him because this is truly a miracle baby.

I cannot even begin to express the joy, thanksgiving and tears that flowed from my heart as I read her words. I’ve known Florica and her husband Flaviu for many years-actually about 10 years now. I’ve worked along side of them in youth ministry and have been overseas with them. They have such a passion for the Lord and they have always served Him by serving others. I just keep thinking about what she said, “…after 16 years of marriage and 12 years of trying”…12 YEARS!! 12 years…of seeking the Lord, hoping in Him, waiting upon Him not knowing if this desire would ever be met, but still moving forward in the day-to-day routines.  Watching couple after couple become pregnant with not just one, but with 2, 3, or more beautiful gifts. I cannot fathom. I can attest too that their “hopes deferred” only drew Flaviu and Florica so much closer to eachother, and to the same God that Hannah knew in the Temple. Expectantly believing, longing in hope, groping in the unknown, tears of pain, cries of  heartache, fighting in faith, sustained in peace, carried in the gracious hands of God, resting in the comfort of His embrace.

And now, a deeper rejoicing bursts forth. One filled with graciousness and awe. I cannot help but be enamored by the Lord’s goodness right now. And, when I asked Florica if I could share her story on my blog, this is what she said:

Please post whatever you want on your blog. It is to the glory of God not ours. We truly want the world to know how awesome God is and that He still answers prayers and performs miracles. And when you are in waiting for an answer from God, don’t give up and don’t lose hope and faith. He does answer in His perfect timing for such a time as this.

How can we not give God all the glory and all the honor due to Him? He is AWESOME! He is FAITHFUL! But the other challenge is to believe Him for our own lives for what we’ve been waiting for as we look at these cloud of witnesses that kept persevering in the Lord. We cannot think of the witnesses around us as super-humans, whether their stories are in the Bible or not. They were/are just as much flesh and blood as you and I and they really did feel the tremendous weight of their burdens. BUT they kept moving forward with the Lord, casting their cares on Him and allowing His joy to be their strength. Oh Lord, call Your truths to remembrance…

What a huge testimony! What a huge God…

floGreat is Thy faithfulness, O’God my Father. There is no shadow of turning with Thee. Thou changest not, Thy compassions they fail not. As Thou hast been, Thou forever will be. Great is Thy Faithfulness. Great is Thy Faithfulness. Morning by morning, new mercies I see. All I have needed Thy hand hath provided. Great is Thy Faithfulness Lord unto me.


2 thoughts on “A Tree of Life

Leave a Reply

