Do You Trust Me?

I keep replaying the video and dialogue of Aladdin and Jasmine in my head: “Do you trust me”, he asks her in a bit of a hurry. But the second time is firmer and his intentions are clearer with just the intensity of his look and his outstretched hand. It’s as though he’s saying, “NO! Think about this, do you really trust Me?” A bit hesitant she reaches for his hand but willing to trust and jump…

Ok, I know you see where I’m going with this but the twist for me is this: I am wanting, waiting and willing to jump, run, hike, fly, walk, crawl–whatever! As silly as it is to think about the video, and which by the way I do love Aladdin =), I sense the Lord putting before me more and more, “Shelly, do you trust Me?”  “Yes, Lord I do.” “No Shelly, do you really trust Me?” In this time, I see how He’s deepening my understanding of trusting in Him, looking to Him and believing His jealous love for His Bride. This includes you and I, each individual son and daughter. But for me the kicker in trust is this: It’s not so much jumping–I think I was born a “jumper”/adventurer. The trust issue now is abiding/remaining.

This may not make sense, but let me try to explain. I feel like most of my life has been a pretty wild, challenging and yet fun adventure. We’re all given a specific journey and adventure with the Lord. Mine’s unique for Shelly and has consisted of  herding yak, spending a summer with nomads, building orphanages in Jamaica, working and living in the Teton country, floating down rivers in the west (whether by boat or inner tube =)), journeying through Guatemala and Honduras and then being moved to the concrete jungles of Chicago. I can honestly say the Lord has placed me on this journey and He has done all the moving, both in a physical way, but deep in my heart as well. What’s bonkers is that I’m still in Chicago and not moved onto the next adventure as I thought it would pan out. It’s been almost 7 years! Is this really home? Well, I suppose, at least today it is. Working a desk at Moody? Again, today it is. I feel like I could go just about anywhere I wanted and move practically whenever too, but that’s the easier route. Staying, abiding and remaining are a whole lot harder. Hmmmm.

It’s hard to see all of this as just a season that will come and go especially when it feels like I’ve been “here” forever. (7 years is hardly forever…and 3 years after graduation is just a sneeze in time!! But it’s strange that I’ve felt every moment of it.) I have to remind myself there’s so much more going on than meets the eye–it’s evidenced in what’s unseen. So my daily challenge is to Trust Him and not when there’s a perceivable adventure, but when the greatest thing that would please His beautiful heart is only to remain and abide…where He has me. His hand is outstretched every morning and His eyes piercingly say, “Do you trust Me? Then remain.”

One thought on “Do You Trust Me?

  1. Awesome, awesome post. Gosh, what insight He has given you. I love it. Trust me, remain and abide. I can relate as this is what God has had us do here in WA for almost 4 years, yet it wasn’t until we took the jump into church that we were able to clearly see it.

    Lord, I pray that Shelly will continue to remain, abide and trust in you even when being in Chicago doesn’t seem like an adventure. I pray that you will start to reveal to her in awesome might ways what it is you want her to do there. Thank you Jesus for your grace, mercy and unending love. Amen. 🙂

    Love you, sweet friend.

Leave a Reply

