Spiritual Warfare Talk

I was asked to share with some girls last night at Moody about spiritual warfare. One of the girls that I mentor, Kathleen, asked me to do this,  and right away I knew in my heart it was what God would have me step out and speak on. See, I reallllllly don’t like speaking in front of people! I find as I get older, I don’t get bolder in group settings! If anything, I want to shy away more…it’s an odd thing. But I love people — I can’t help but love them. Even when I walk down the street there are times I just start crying over people because of an expression on their face. That person may have only had indigestion, but I’m lost in prayer for them! It’s kinda silly, I know : ) but God will use their acid reflux faces to get someone to pray over them, that’s how much He loves them.

[that right there is a perfect example of a Shelly-rabbit-trail! Lord help the readers of this blog!!]

Ok, well, I thought I’d share just a bit of what I learned and spoke to the girls about last night. It did encourage me deeply and I’ve been carrying it with me today.

Here’s a bit of the Truth:

1. There is a battle for your very life each day, and the battle is REAL and more often than not, the daily battles are psychological and not necessarily, physical.

“Satan comes to steal, kill and destroy” John 10:10

Even in the beginning, there was a war between satan and the Lord in which satan, an angel of light, was cast down from heaven and was given (not gained) limited dominion on earth. Lest we forget the daily battle being sought over our lives, we must be reminded of how much we see battles alllllll throughout the old and new testament. God’s people always came under attack and in the new testament, as the gospel of Jesus Christ was revealed, even greater opposition arose for the early church. In the End, there will be one last battle and Satan’s dominion and his life will be no more. Then all who belong to the Omnipotent Creator will enter into the glorious Kingdom and His rest. So lest we forget, there’s always been a REAL battle for those who belong to the Kingdom of Light and there is one today.

Paul reminded Timothy, “Endure hardship with us like a good soldier of Christ Jesus”, because, “No man that warreth entangleth himself with the affairs of this life” – 2 Timothy 2:3,4. Paul made sure that even his own disciple was taught to see each day and moments throughout a day, as one already engaged in war and on the frontlines.

A friend of mine once said something that shaped my perception of battle. He said, “To engage in warfare, you must know your enemy and how he fights.” How satan may attack me may not be the way he can get to another. Virtually, it is all the same in that, he accuses and lies, but it may hit me differently and more potently than it may another. I’ve also come to learn that his attacks aren’t always so blatantly obvious. Sometimes they really are [hello cement block falling from sky and hitting my car], but other times, his attacks can go undetected for a while until a situation is just blown out of proportion. The enemy knows us extremely well and he knows exactly where our armor is weakest. It should be no surprise then that he will continue to hit those places/points in our thoughts and in our relationships over and over and over and OVER again. We gotta wise up for sure! So, Peter not only tells us who our enemy is, what his motive is, but how then to come up against him:

“Be self-controlled and alert (like a good soldier). Your enemy the devil prowls around like a roaring lion looking for someone to devour (He’s NOT playing games friends– He’s out to destroy a child of God by ripping them up). Resist him, standing firm in the faith

“Resist him” in the greek comes from two words: anti/histemi. {histemi} means: to cause or to make to stand; to set up; to cause a person to keep his/her place. {anti} means: over against, opposite to, instead of, in place of something.  This is SO powerful!!! So literally, the Word is telling us that when the opposition comes and whatever form it may come (remember much of our warfare is psychological, not just physical afflictions), we must stand UP against that opposition. God wants us to keep our place, or our footing, where we are heading and moving forward, and we must rise against the lies, accusations and attacks. (Amen!!!!!)

Now, what I thought was so awesome with this passage is that Peter is telling us that we must replace opposition with something — that there has to be an exchange here and that’s where “standing firm in the faith” is SOOO vital. The greek word for faith here is {pistis} meaning: conviction of TRUTH; in the NT, it’s a conviction or belief regarding man’s relationship to God and divine things, generally with the included idea of trust and holy fervor born of faith and joined with it.  I was reminded again of a quote by A.W. Tozer, “What comes into our minds when we think about God is the most important thing about us“…Why?! Because who we believe God to be will determine whether or not we will and can stand-up against the attacks of satan. Sisters, the truth of the matter is that the battles will only get bloodier and more difficult, whether we are waging them in our own lives or we come alongside others who are encountering fierce opposition.

I then asked the girls, “What then is the one thing you have to guard as your very life and breath each day based on this scripture?”,  and resoundingly they said, “Our faith!” (Oh, how I praise God for the Holy Spirit who opens minds to receive/apprehend truth, because I wasn’t sure if I was being clear at all!!)

Sisters, Who or what is our {pistis} ? Do we believe there’s a daily battle being waged around us and for us and that maybe the person we’re upset with isn’t the problem, but maybe it’s a situation, or ploy, the Enemy is using to oppose us? Are we believing His lies too readily against the Truth of God? Are we engaging this battle knowing that satan’s head is crushed under Christ’s heel and that he submits to our Lord’s authority? Do we activate the authority Christ has given us as his children, to stand firm and fight back with the potent words of an Omnipotent God?

These are big challenges to me to be sober-minded even today and to become more so increasingly aware of the battle we’re in. May we no longer shrink back, but may the conviction of God’s Word and His love for us cause us to  stand-UP, replace lies with Truth, and witness the victory!

(sorry, I can’t talk about battles and warfare without thinking of William Wallace…FREEDOM!! Man, we should’ve painted our faces last night!)

2 thoughts on “Spiritual Warfare Talk

  1. I read this today Shelly — The way God is using you is so amazing. We love you and pray for you!
    Mama and Papa Hyde

Leave a Reply

