Cookies with Kath-Attack

God allows seasons of our lives to be touched and impressed by particular individuals. He also brings people throughout one day to do the same. When I think about my life and those I love so much, I am amazed by the incredible people God has allowed me to get to know, journey with, laugh with, go too deep for our own good with, be absolutely crazy with, share pain with and to be influenced by.

Do you ever just think about how God orchestrated all these vessels to come into your life? In some way or another, they have left their finger-print in you and you in them. It’s incredible, right?! Or…is that a scary thought too?! What have I left “imprinted” on others. Oh Lord, I thank you for your grace! : ) God truly designed us to be journeying alongside of other people and I could not imagine my life without the incredible influences He’s sovereignly placed in my path, along the way.

I remember when I became a Christian way back in 7th grade, one of the most precious verses to me was Ecclesiastes 4:7-12 and to this day, still beats so loudly in my heart. I think growing up in a household that I did, I didn’t quite know what being close to someone meant. It wasn’t until I became a Christian that I sensed the overwhelming love of God through the community of believers. Think about this too – Not even the Triune Godhead can be or has ever been separated – there’s a profound union between the Father, Jesus and the Holy Spirit. And so in a similar way, this is how God designed it to be with us and the people He sovereignly places around us. Take time to think about these words, inspired through the Holy Spirit.  God knew the deepest void of man/woman:

Again I saw something meaningless under the sun:

There was a man all alone…

One of the translations for the word “meaningless” is ultimately profitless, an enigma. WOW! An enigma. Us doing life “alone” is “puzzling or contradictory”. It’s not at all to say we cannot do things in of ourselves or by ourselves, but that’s where the Christian differs from the world. As soon as we received Christ, we were united in Him (Rom. 6:5) and so we now do life leaning and depending more and more on Him. And if that weren’t absolutely enough, He drops into our lives amazing and timely friends along the way. I’m SOOOOOOOOO thankful God never desired us to be alone!! He saw it as ultimately profitless, futile and an enigma!! Two (or three, or 10…) are better than one, even if the two may clash sometimes, hurt the other or make you want to pull your hair out : )!! I’m so grateful we were ultimately made for all our days to be united with Jesus Christ (He’ll NEVER leave us) and with those around us throughout our short stay here on earth.

With all that being said : ), I am amazed with all the people God has blessed me to journey with and know, near and far and one particular lady is my dear sister Kathleen Chlasta. We met at a Concert of Prayer over a year ago and I have had the amazing privilege of getting to know and mentor her. I can say maybe this older woman (me) has taught this younger woman (Kath), BUT I can honestly say Kathleen has taught me so much about hungering for God and His Word, prayer and truly about a humility in Christ through being vulnerable. I’ve adored this season with her and I’m excited to see what God is going to do in her life today, tomorrow and in the years to come – (And she’ll be getting married in January to her amazing fiance, Ben!!! Can’t wait for that as well!)

She is affectionately known to me as “Kath-Attack” : ) Well, Kath-attack came over the other Saturday so we could bake some cookies for the people in my apartment building. I’ve really had a burden for them as of late and desire to get to know them. I’ll be honest, I didn’t really want to do this alone. It’s a bit of a step out of my comfort zone. I can bake cookies and certainly eat them, but taking them to complete strangers is not easy. But the Lord has reminded me so much that I’m not in this apartment building just for ME! I pass by them day in and day out, but do I know them? Have I at least tried getting to know them because the Lord loves them too. Truly, it’s the love of Christ that we have encountered that compels us to step out beyond our comforts. I’m so thankful someone was willing to get uncomfortable with me that I could get to know Jesus!! So, I put it out there to her and she was ALL ABOUT IT! I love it! She actually sent me a text reminding me that we had to make sure we did it! I’m so glad she did because isn’t that what happens so easily? We start out with the best of intentions to do something on our heart, but fear and doubt easily creep in and we don’t end up doing it at all. I’m soooo grateful for her tender heart!

Long story story short, we had such a blast!! We probably ate more than we should have – the recipe said it should yield 72 cookies and I’m pretty sure we had close to 60…We HAD to make sure every batch wasn’t going to kill my neighbors, right? That’s a bad impression! : D We also had a sweet season of prayer and then we set off to deliver. Here are just a few pics:

I promise we followed the instructions but it was bone dry! So, we added our own ingredients and I had to get down and dirty!

So that's where those 12 extra cookies went...

The beautiful Miss Kath-Attack and I with the finished product. It took us forever to try to come up with a lil

It was so wonderful to spend that time with Kath-Attack and then to bring a sweet treat to the neighbors. Already there has been a good response from them and some planning is on the horizon for some apartment community get-together’s! I couldn’t have done this without her support and her willing heart~

Two are better than one, for they have a good return for their work: If one falls down, his friend can help him up. But pity the man who falls and has no one to help him up!

So thankful for every imprint and friend along the way~

2 thoughts on “Cookies with Kath-Attack

  1. Shelly,
    There are so many reasons why I love you, and your caring heart is just one of them. Girl, you have left some imprints on my heart. I thank God for you! 🙂 You’re a blessing in my life.
    Now, you need to stop getting so skinny or you’re going to blow away in that crazy Chicago wind! Love you, friend!

  2. Shellanator!!! This is so sweet. It has been such an amazing last year getting to know you. I have truly learned so much from you about our great God. You have become one of my dearest friends and mentors. I pray that I will be able to pass on what you’ve taught me to future generations 🙂 Love you Shell Bell!

Leave a Reply

