Pressing ON, Praying Hard – MARATHON!

HI EVERYONE!

Ok, as many of you know I have been training for the Chicago Marathon. This Sunday, 10-10-10, is race day!!! I’m SOOOOO excited and I have absolutely NO idea how it’ll all go : ) The Lord has been challenging me in many areas – particularly on what it means to “finish the race” in God’s eyes. Mmmmm, I can see how much my faith is challenged and stretched to believe Him for the finish line, no matter the time and no matter how it looks to get there. What I feel like I’m physically capable of and what is possible through faith, is the greatest tension and I’m learning, the greatest ecstacy as well. However that finish may look, I’m beginning to understand more and more, it doesn’t matter so much how you get there, but that you get there somehow, by pressing on toward the Prize. I think it’ll be a race full of emotion and motion:  fun, exhilerating, painful, slow, fast, uphill, down-hill, twisty, hot, exhausting, while cheers and screaming on-lookers fill the sidewalks. And through the over-stimulation of sights, sounds, mental concentration, physical pain and emotional exertion –  somehow, there will be a hidden beauty emerging in the midst of it all. The most beautiful thing in retrospect, I’m believing on this side of the race, is that of determination and perseverance to FINISH. Ah yes, perseverance (remain under), there’s that word again and how I’ve come to love you out of really despising you!!  I’m also blessed to run this race with my friend, Jamie Kay. Wow! We’ll definitely need each other and grateful we can do this together.

So, I also had this bright idea too : ), that I’d love to pray for YOU while I’m running. It’s something else I’m learning on the Race toward the heavenly Prize, that we can get so caught up in our race struggles and issues, that we are more inward than outward. I know this race will be hard. I don’t want to spend 26.2 miles thinking and dwelling on that! So, I would love to focus my thoughts through the hours by praying for other people and the burdens on their hearts. Just like I hope to press through the pain and fatigue in this race, I desire to press through with You in prayer for what’s on your heart. So, please drop me a line here or in an email — it can be anything: personal, for someone else, a burden that you’re carrying for things overseas….truly, whatever is on your heart! Trust me, I’ll have plenty of time and I will carry (literally) your requests with me.

Love you all — Let’s keep believing and keep pressing on in faith~

“I consider everything a loss compared to the surpassing greatness of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord, for whose sake I have lost all things. I consider them rubbish, that I may gain Christ and be found in him, not having a righteousness of my own that comes from the law, but that which is through faith in Christ—the righteousness that comes from God and is by faith. I want to know Christ and the power of his resurrection and the fellowship of sharing in his sufferings, becoming like him in his deathso that one way or another I will experience the resurrection from the dead! [Only in difficulty can we ever know glory!] Not that I have already obtained all this, or have already been made perfect [amen and amen!], but I press on to take hold of that for which Christ Jesus took hold of me. Brothers, I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of it [Tru Dat!]. But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.”

Send me your prayer requests!!!

 

Marathon day jersey inspired by my Mom. I wore this in 2007 and will again in 2010. This is what she would shout out to me to encourage me during my basketball and soccer games when I became discouraged. I can't imagine anything more appropriate then to believe Jesus, and the great cloud of witnesses, are daily cheering us on by name too, that we may FINISH~

 

3 thoughts on “Pressing ON, Praying Hard – MARATHON!

  1. Hi honey! I am so proud of you for doing the marathon this year! I know this day will mean so much to you and I’m excited to be part of it in a small way.

    Here are my prayer requests:

    First, a selfish one. My baby boy will be here in December so I prayer that my labor and delivery will be enjoyable, pain free, fast and that I can achieve my goal of being committed to prayer through the entire thing. I pray that he will be healthy and happy, and that the issue with his kidneys clears up so he does not suffer from any infections.

    Please pray for the health of my parents- that my father does not suffer another heart attack and that he is able to watch his grandson grow up. Pray for my mom’s blood pressure to improve and that she is able to come out of her cloud of depression that has been weighing heavily on her for so long.

    Pray that my husband has some great doors open for him soon so he can expand his career as a composer/producer

    Pray for our marriage- I pray that Steven and I are always as happy (or happier!) than we are today!

    Much love to you, Michelle

    Shay

  2. Oh sweet friend, I am so excited to hear how this turns out for you. I will be praying for you as well.

    Prayer Requests:
    – My marriage, that I would be the Godly, Titus 2 wife that the Lord has called me to be
    – I would be a Godly mother to Emery and any other children we have. That the Lord would continue to show Jack and myself how to be Godly parents
    – Grace and wisdom as I travel to GA and spend 2 weeks with my family

    I love you

Leave a Reply

