I Cannot Help But Love Him More…

I am reading through the book of Hebrews and I am enraptured by the Love of Jesus Christ. Honestly, I feel like I’m reading it with new eyes – ever had that happen? I could scarcely get beyond the second chapter, as Christ’s amazing love just pours forth from the writer’s words. I don’t want to do much talking – but maybe much worshiping and I hope you can join with me~

“…we do see Jesus, who was made lower than the angels for a little while, now crowned with glory and honor because He suffered death, so that by the grace of God He might taste death for everyone.

10 In bringing many sons and daughters to glory, it was fitting that God, for whom and through whom everything exists, should make the Pioneer of their salvation perfect through what he suffered.

11 Both the One who makes people holy and those who are made holy are of the same family. So Jesus is not ashamed to call them brothers and sisters.

14 Since the children have flesh and blood, He too shared in their humanity so that by his death He might break the power of him who holds the power of death—that is, the devil— 15 and free those who all their lives were held in slavery by their fear of death.

17 For this reason (to FREE us, His brothers and sisters) He had to be made like them (like ME, like you -weak and mortal slaves to fear), fully human in every way, in order that He might become a merciful and faithful high priest in service to God, and that He might make atonement for the sins of the people.”

I’m so in love with the One and only, Jesus Christ. I’m so humbled that even as God, He willingly became lower than mankind, to share in my humanity – knowing that He had to understand my weakness. It was the only way for ALL mercy, faithfulness and atonement to pour forth over my enslaved mind. He desired to understand, feel and know my plight, not just from a high and lofty place, but from the dirt, stains and through bitter death. I am so in awe that we belong to God, through Jesus, and He can call us an equal – brothers and sisters – yet I still have to stand back and whisper, “You – are -GOD”

If my Father could make Jesus perfect through what He suffered, then as the Bride, can we consent to suffering just like our Lord Jesus, so the perfection of God’s glory may be made manifest here on earth? Will I lay down this life – even in suffering – that I can be perfected in Christ? When you begin to understand the heart of the One asking and you begin to see that He has done everything to identify with mankind just to set us free, all I can say is, “How great is your love for me Lord! Oh how great, that You’d never put me through something you haven’t already been and wouldn’t be willing to go. It is no small thing to be called a sister of yours and to belong to you. If You Lord went this way, then Lord let the Bride follow the same path of the Perfected One, the one always leading to Your glory and Your honor.”

I cannot help but love Him more

2 thoughts on “I Cannot Help But Love Him More…

  1. Love you Becky! It’s actually the newly updated NIV 2010 version. There are slight changes, as they try to keep as close to the original texts, but it’s really neat 🙂

Leave a Reply

