Vaccines GALORE!

HOT DOG! I am glad this is over…whew!

I have been dreading the vaccinations since I heard about the trip. I HATE needles! I know, I’m a wuss, but let the list of vaccinations required/recommended for Tanzania tell you why:

  1. Yellow Fever
  2. Hepatitis A – 3 rounds of shots
  3. Hepatitis B
  4. Typhoid
  5. Rabies
  6. Meningococcal Meningitis
  7. Cholera
  8. Infuenza
  9. Tetanus/diphtheria/pertussis
  10. Measles/mumps/rubella
  11. Polio
  12. Varicella
  13. Malaria

Praise the Lord that I had a good portion of these already from when I went to Tibet! But my rabies shot was just shy a year, so yes, got another rabies shot. Even though this time I don’t think we’ll have to worry about wild dogs – but perhaps wild hyenas???

This is what my visit to the travel clinic consisted of and why my left arm is sore today!:

  • Yellow Fever vaccine, which is a live virus – that’s crazy to think!
  • Rabies
  • Meningococcal meningitis
  • Malaria Pills
  • Altitude sickness pills (thank you Lord – 19,341 feet is no joke)
  • Prescription diarrhea pills – I pray I never have to use these. Funny but serious notation about this: “Do not drink tap water or use it to brush your teeth even in fine hotels.” Well good thing I won’t be tempted…I’ll be on a mountain or sleeping at an orphanage!
  • Oral Typhoid pills

I cannot believe that this trip is just a month and six days around the corner!!

Thank you for ALL the support and prayers!

I am truly overwhelmed by the Lord’s faithfulness and people’s generosity! It is a privilege to co-labor with you all in this endeavor for the Kingdom.


7 thoughts on “Vaccines GALORE!

  1. Oh girl!!! I know the feeling! Your arms will be sore tommorow! Fo Sho!!! Watch out for those malaria pills…they cause crazy dreams!!! Can’t wait to hear all about your trip…but lets skype before ok!!! Love you!

  2. OUCH! That’s a lot! I am so excited for you and we continue to lift you in prayer as the Lord prepares your heart and the ones you’ll be coming in contact with! Love you, girl!

Leave a Reply

