126 Stairs x 5 Hours = A Whole Lotta Prayers

Happy Friday Everyone!!!

Wow, so my training days have reached the climax!! Tomorrow from 9am-2pm I will be climbing up and down a flight of 126 stairs for 5 hours with 30 pounds on my back. YIKES!!! To say that I’m nervous is an understatement, but it’s incredible to see scripture come to life – how Christ’s power is made perfect in our weaknesses. Even this morning, the Lord reminded me of a promise I made just earlier this week to remember, as I promised Ralph Jordan, that there’s always another set of footprints, even when I cannot see them.

So that’s where YOU come in.

Just like when I ran the Chicago Marathon in October, I would LOVE to pray for YOU during my 5-hour-stair-master-extreme climb.  Please send me ANY prayer requests you may have and I would love to press through in faith together.

As I climb, could you pray for me too? Not just for grace and strength to press on through 5 hours, but for the trip ahead. Opportunities to share and be willing vessels led by the Holy Spirit. Please pray for people to come to know the Lord – as the Lord reminded me this morning, “The fields are ripen unto harvest!” Pray for Phiri, the young lady I now sponsor and will meet. Pray for our time together and that her heart would be open. Pray for my team that we’d be anointed with power from on high, unified and that we’d work well with each other. We need faith and encouragement to press into the things unseen, to petition with all our hearts and believe Him to do above ALL that we could ever ask or imagine. That’s how I desire to pray for you as well!

**This is SO awesome too, as I was literally just reminded of this:  It’ll be almost three years since I last climbed these stairs. Last time I was with two friends who were training for their own mountain climbs. I went up and down these very same stairs for about 6 hours, encouraging them and taking some hilarious photos (if I may say so myself!) of their perseverance in ridiculous heat. It never crossed my mind that I’d ever be back there. God is bringing me to these stairs again for the mountain He’s placed before me and it’s SO much more than Kilimanjaro. It’s His heart for those who don’t know, have not heard and have yet to receive the love and sacrifice of Jesus. Every step is for them – that His name may reach those who have yet to hear.

“How, then, can they call on the one they have not believed in? And how can they believe in the one of whom they have not heard? And how can they hear without someone preaching to them? And how can anyone preach unless they are sent? As it is written: ‘How beautiful are the feet of those who bring good news!’ ” Romans 10:14, 15

Thank you for stepping-out with me~

Look all the way to the left of the picture and those are the stairs - 126 of them! This is an old tobaggan run now used for "hiking" in suburban Chicago.

Look all the way to the left of the picture and those are the stairs - 126 of them - for 5 hours! This is an old tobaggan run now used for "hiking" in suburban Chicago.

You can email me your prayer requests at shelly70x7@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

