So Thankful~

I am just utterly amazed. This morning I woke up in awe at the realization of God’s goodness. I feel like life has been going in such forward motion, and it’s been so easy to forget and not worship Him. I was definitely convicted this weekend of my “spiritual amnesia” – how easily I forget what the Lord has done, how He’s spoken, moved, provided, cared, pruned (for my benefit!), humbled and given much needed perspective. How easily I forget! Lord, forgive me of my spiritual amnesia!!

Wow. There are no words…wow. And by His good will alone, in a week from today I will be leaving for the airport at 4am, arriving in New York at 9am, meeting up with a dear friend, then with my team and THEN leaving for Africa. UNBELIEVABLE!

But I’d feel remiss to focus solely on the future without giving God glory for today. To think back on the last 6 months of preparation and see where everything is today is just astounding. Not just for Africa, but yes, God has used this trip greatly in my life already. He’s repeatedly challenged my pistis – my faith- and isn’t satisfied with who I’ve believed God to be in the past. It’s been humbly refreshing and timely. I feel so blessed that our faith and relationship to God is so important to HIM. Truly truly, the Lord uses every moment to draw us nearer to Himself, if we allow ourselves to see the world through His lenses. Maybe it sounds super-spiritual, but I have to ask myself, isn’t that what this life is about? The seen in all actuality, is not the real reality; the unseen and yet to come is the reality and our longings testify to this.

Ok, I’m totally rambling, but my heart is overwhelmed. I’m also overwhelmed by the generosity of people…HOLY MOLEY, I am overwhelmed. The love, support, prayers, financial support, pep talks : ) and words of ENCOURAGEMENT have meant the world to me. I couldn’t have done this without the Body of Christ. I’m so grateful – deep deep down, so very grateful, for every person.

I could go on and on, and my friends who know me are chuckling – because they know this about me too! But it is so good to remember – don’t let spiritual amnesia set-in. In the seemingly small, and what we deem as “big answers”, may we worship and remember all He’s done…for He’s NEVER forgotten us~

Praise the LORD, my soul!
all my inmost being, praise His holy name!
Praise the LORD, my soul,
and forget not all his benefits—
who forgives all your sins
and heals all your diseases,
who redeems your life from the pit
and crowns you with love and compassion,
who satisfies your desires with good things
so that your youth is renewed like the eagle’s. Praise the LORD, oh my soul! Ps. 103:1-5

Here’s a brief slideshow of my 5 hour hike with 35 lbs. Sorry, it’s sort of lame, but I was in a zone…of exhaustion!! Please take note though of my fave pic: it’s a father helping his daughter up the stairs and holding her hands. I just about lost it, probably of the exhaustion but also because I felt like that’s what my Father did so that I could climb that day. Please note too that I sure was wearing my pearls…because frankly I felt like an amazon woman and I needed some semblance of girliness ; )

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


2 thoughts on “So Thankful~

Leave a Reply

