New Year, New Beginnings, New Perspective

I know it’s been so long since my last post and I must admit, it’s not that I have writer’s block but the problem is that I have so much in my heart and I’m finding it quite difficult to know where to start.

But I will try…

The last 7 months, God has been doing a “new thing” in me. It’s been a series of internal battles – the ones of the mind/heart – and they’ve kept me clueless at times but most assuredly, kept me near Him. Try as I may, I have earnestly tried putting all the pieces of the “why’s” and “how’s” and the “what the??!!” together and have only landed in the same place, over and over and over again….

In His grace and His presence. 

I have far more questions than answers, far more moments of silence than clarity and far more greater depths of peace and joy in the moments of each day. I cannot get into all that’s been going on, but I know I’m not the only one who feels the strain and beauty of this life. Gathered into this season more recently, is the passing of one of my best friends, Christen Ringle. My eyes well with tears typing that, because never would I have thought those words would be on this blog. Yet even in the midst of  all this, there again is that indescribable peace. 

It’s a new season – I Am doing a new thing ~

This is what God spoke to my heart just before the new year and I believe He’s awakening my soul to greater places of grace and peace.

With this new year and the new thing being done on the inside, there’s been a change in my perspective and hence, the change in title of my blog: Pieces of the  Mosaic. See, I have the greatest propensity to always dream big, look down the road of all the could-be’s and what-if’s and on and on I go into la-la-land. That’s not a terrible characteristic, I’m learning! But what’s problematic for me, and I’m sure for many others out there like me, is that I miss the beauty of the small things in life. I’m so busy looking down the road, that I forget what’s under my feet today. And the only way to enjoy what’s down that road, one needs to take time to savor what’s going on today. I’m a tele-porter at heart…”Beam me forward, Scottie!” I’m learning, it’s not just savoring the steps of each day, but the strength to enable that step, the will to move about and the trust to plant firmly one sole after another in this soil of life. I know this must sound really ridiculous but seeing life this way is doing a couple things: 1- it’s making me slow down, be still when necessary, not rush the process and SAVOR the moments within a moment of time; 2 – developing a deeper place of gratitude in my heart for each small grace given.

And so, Mosaic is a beautiful theme to not just a new year, but hopefully, a new outlook on life in general. I believe God takes the small and sometimes fractured pieces of life and is in the process of wonderfully, carefully, perfectly and beautifully creating something that truly cannot be captured in one still frame.

He’s doing it in my life. He’s doing it in yours. And if that doesn’t make one’s head spin a bit, He’s been doing it since the foundation of the earth.

  • The smallest pieces of our lives matter
  • You matter
  • I matter
  • Each breath, tear, joy, desire, longing, stillness matter
  • Each piece fills one moment and develops into a season and continues this Mosaic…the question is, will we savor the work of His hands? Will we let God have complete control of our life, even when we cannot see all that’s at work?

My desire is to savor the small and to enjoy the journey, for it is all leading to a greater crescendo…and I want to take in every moment…piece by piece…grace by grace, for today may be all I have to relish~

8 thoughts on “New Year, New Beginnings, New Perspective

  1. I was just thinking the other day how it has been FOREVER since you’ve written and how desperately I missed your writing. Love this post. Thanks friend!

Leave a Reply

