Opening DOORS for Uganda and an Old Friend

Much much much to write about! And this morning is the PERFECT lead to something I have been loooonging to post about.

This morning, on my way to work, I met up with an old homeless friend that I have posted about here on my blog. His name is Ralph Jordan. I met Ralph just over a year ago as I was preparing to go to Africa. If you read the blog post that I wrote about him last February, it’ll give you an idea of what God began stirring in my heart: a greater reality for the call of missions on my life and a greater realization of God’s INCREDIBLE love. After my meeting with Ralph, the gospel seared in my heart and it was a new beginning, an awakening of sorts, to go to deeper places of tangibly knowing God’s love. As I encountered this wonderful agape-love to a greater degree, my life has been changed even more so. For that encounter, I am forever grateful.

So to see Ralph this morning was such a blessing!! What’s even better is that I was able to share with him how profound his words were to me. He gave me the biggest hug and I bought him another turkey, cheese and mayo sandwich so we could talk longer. Then, I also had the joy of sharing with my friend how God is leading me back to Uganda this year and all the more John 3:16 is not some cliche verse but it is the gospel so beautifully and powerfully manifested.

He was so ecstatic and kept pouring out encouragement, telling me to make sure I am telling everyone about the Love that I have received. I told him with all sincerity, it is my life’s mission – spending my life to make others rich in Christ.

Now, I get to “formally” share with more people…I will be embarking upon a trip this summer to Uganda!!! (oh my heart is amazed at writing those words)

Since I was last in Africa, God had placed orphans on my heart so heavily. I have wanted to adopt or just go back to Africa and be a mama to the kids who did not have any mother or father. God, in His wonderful timing, kept shutting doors over this last year. I will absolutely admit that it was discouraging and disheartening. Faith and waiting are not easy. There is so much “unseen”, but I have learned a lot about surrender, trust, leaning more fully on the Lord, seeing His matchless grace abound in my weaknesses and thus enabling my course to stay steady with where He has me. I have truly fallen in love with where He has placed me. My coworkers are some of the best people I know and I could not have asked to work for a greater company. Within my church, He’s opened tremendous doors to teach children Sunday school, lead worship, mentor women and to pour into this city in various ways. It has ALL been such a blessing. One of the greatest gifts has been coming on board with our children’s ministry and teaching the youngens’ about our incredible Jesus. I started only in January, as a way of casting seed if ever God opened the door for me to work with orphans again. I had no idea how much I would love it and fall in love with these precious ones. Also, teaching children is not as easy as it sounds. It’s hard work, but He truly gives us more grace in our weaknesses and I can attest to that after every Sunday service!

And in such a wonderful fashion, in the midst of all the questions, waiting, praying, sowing and reaping the Lord brings along a divine opportunity. The story itself is just so incredible to my heart that I will save it for another post! But suffice it to say, I am in awe once again of His perfect timing; His DOORS that He opens, while others He sovereignly shuts. (By the way, the name of the organization I will be working with is called DOORS!). And who knows, but for such a time as this, that He is bringing all these things together to do something even greater than what this finite mind can conceive!

I’m in awe and expectant~

2 thoughts on “Opening DOORS for Uganda and an Old Friend

    • Thanks Bob!! Can you believe it??? Going back… my heart is just bursting! But I have A LOT to do until then 🙂 Appreciate your prayers!

Leave a Reply

